Tallahassee Veterinary Hospital
Purchasing a Puppy or Kitten?
- Any puppy or kitten sold in Florida must be accompanied by an official health certificate at the time of purchse! It is illegal to sell a puppy or kitten without one.
- No puppy or kitten should be sold before 8 weeks of age.
- Every pet dealer who sells an animal to a consumer must provide the consumer at the time of sale with a written notice, printed or typed, which reads as follows: It is the consumer's right, pursuant to section 828.29, Florida Statutes, to receive a certificate of veterinary inspection with each dog or cat purchased from a pet dealer. Such certificate shall list all vaccines and deworming medications administered to the animal and shall state that the animal has been examined by a Florida-licensed veterinarian who certifies that, to the best of the veterinarian's knowledge, the animal was found to have been healthy at the time of the veterinary examination. In the event that the consumer purchases the animal and finds it to have been unfit for purchase as provided in section 828.29(5), Florida Statutes, the consumer must notify the pet dealer within 2 business days of the veterinarian's determination that the animal was unfit. The consumer has the right to retain, return, or exchange the animal and receive reimbursement for certain related veterinary services rendered to the animal, subject to the right of the dealer to have the animal examined by another veterinarian.
Florida Official Certificate of Veterinary Inspection
Vaccines & Dewormers Required by law:
Dogs: Canine Distemper, Hepatitis, Parainfluenza, Leptospirosis, Bordetella, Parvo, Roundworms and Hookworms.
Any dog over 6 months must be tested for heartworms.
Cats: Panleukopenia, Feline Viral Rhinotracheitis, Calici Virus, Roundworms and Hookworms.
Each cat must also be tested for Feline Leukemia.
Rabies vaccinations for pets over 4 months of age.